Beggar's Bowl

Monday, February 11, 2013


The Sanskrit name for the 4th chakra is "Anahata." This word means "unstruck" or "stillness." This seems to imply that deep beneath our brokenness and pain, wholeness abides.

The 4th chakra is located in our heart center. It governs our intuition and love. It is also known as the heart chakra.

Glands/organs/parts of the body associated with the 4th chakra:
  • Thymus, heart, lungs, chest, arms, breasts
Green and the secondary color is pink.

Air. Pranayama practice helps to balance this chakra.


Compassion and joy. The 4th chakra feels the suffering of others.

Deficient: You may experience feelings of shyness and loneliness, an inability to forgive or a lack of empathy. Physical conditions can include shallow breathing, asthma, and some lung diseases.

Excessive: You may experience co-dependency, possessiveness, jealousy, heart problems and high blood pressure.

Poses that stimulate the 4th chakra are backward bends (anything that opens the chest). A powerful way to energize this chakra is to love ourselves and others.

No comments:

Post a Comment